2021 Summer Programs

VALATIE FREE LIBRARY 2021 SUMMER PROGRAM: “Tails and Tales”

June 27–Aug 14 READING CHALLENGE.
Read Books! Win Ice Cream Cones

WEEK 1: JUNE 27 – JULY 3

Tuesday, June 29 (10:00 a.m.) Story Hour – Governor Martin H. Glynn Village Square
Thursday, July 1 (6:30 p.m.) Meet the Miniature Horses from High & Mighty Farms – Library Parking Lot

WEEK 2: JULY 4 – July 10

Monday, July 5 Independence Day Observance. Library Closed
Tuesday, July 6 (10:00 a.m.) Story Hour – Governor Martin H. Glynn Village Square
Wednesday, July 7 (4:30 – 6 p.m.) Pickling Workshop with the Sylvia Center. Join us at Katchkie Farm (745 Fischer Road, Kinderhook) to make your own pickles.
Wednesday, July 7 “Take Flight,” a video by Anita Sanchez, nature educator – Watch the video any time during the summer and visit the Library to pick up supplies for Chuck’s Saturday mini-glider workshop.
Saturday, July 10 (10:30 a.m.) Make your own mini-glider with Mr. Chuck. Library Parking Lot

WEEK 3: JULY 11 – JULY 17

Tuesday, July 13 (10:00 a.m.) Story Hour – Governor Martin H. Glynn Village Square
Tues., July 13 (2 p.m.) CLC’s Heidi Bock will guide us on a Trail Scavenger Hunt. Meet in Library Parking Lot.
Friday, July 16 (6:30 p.m.) Cardboard Explosion with Puppeteer, Brad Shur – Library Parking Lot. With help from the audience, Brad transforms simple cardboard shapes into elaborate puppet characters, then brings them to life
before your eyes. Get ready to outsmart dragons, choose your own superpower, and train adorable animal sidekicks.
Saturday, July 17 (10:30 a.m.) Fantastical Plaster Creatures with Grace Lang, Part I – Library Parking Lot.  In Part I we will build wire armature skeletons, bulk up our figures with tin-foil and sculpt them using plaster-wrap.

WEEK 4: JULY 18 – JULY 24

Tuesday, July 20 (10:00 a.m.) Story Hour – Governor Martin H. Glynn Village Square
Tuesday, July 20 (2 p.m.) Experiments with Bubbles – Library Parking Lot. Join us to experiment with bubble solutions and then create many different bubble shapes using these solutions.
Saturday, July 24 (10:30 a.m.) Fantastical Plaster Creatures with Grace Lang, Part II – Library Parking Lot.  Join Grace this weekend to paint and decorate the creatures you made last week. Children may choose to take their creations home or leave them in the Library to be displayed throughout 2021 in the Children’s Area.

WEEK 5: JULY 25 – JULY 31

Tuesday, July 27 (10 a.m.) Story Hour – Governor Martin H. Glynn Village Square
Wed., July 28 (4 p.m.) Go for a guided tour at Riverside Park with Fran Martino who will show us the creatures that live in the water there & how to perform a water quality test. Limit 5 pods (1or 2 children, 1 parent each) Ages 8 +
Thursday, July 29 (4 p.m.) Trail Walk / Bike Ride with N. Chatham Library Patrons. Refreshments! Prizes!
Saturday, July 31 (10:30 a.m.): Paint and Snack for Kids with Hannah DeWeerd – Library Parking Lot

                              WEEK 6: August 1 – August 7

Tuesday, August 3 (10 a.m.) Story Hour – Governor Martin H. Glynn Village Square
Tuesday, August 3 (3 p.m.) “Beastly Verse and Creative Creatures” with Nancy Kohler – Library Parking Lot  Explore making poetry and create and monoprint your favorite beastly pet pal.
Friday, August 6 (7 p.m.) Magic with Master Magician Doug Bartels – Library Parking Lot
Saturday, August 7 (10:30 p.m.) Crafting with Mr. Chuck – Library Parking Lot. Make a portrait of your favorite animal. Bring a picture of your pet or draw any animal you like.

WEEK 7: August 8 – August 14

Tuesday, August 10 (10 a.m.) Story Hour – Governor Martin H. Glynn Village Square
Wednesday, August 11 (1:30 p.m.) Cake Decorating with Lori Ogden. Bring an unfrosted sheet cake, single layer cake or cupcakes. We provide the frosting and decorating tubes. Location will depend upon signup.
Thursday, August 12 (6:30 p.m.) – Animal Embassy – St. Luke’s Fellowship Hall
Saturday, August 14 (10:30 a.m.) Printmaking Fun with Mr. Chuck – Library Parking Lot

NOTE: 1) the location of each program 2) Covid safety precautions (masks & social distancing) in effect

Registration Required. Beginning Tuesday, June 8, register by clicking the link on the Library web page
(valatielibrary.net), visiting the Library or calling 518-758-9321.